top of page

Lady Eagles Win District XC Title

The Cedar Creek High School Varsity girls won the UIL 5A District 18 District XC Championship on Oct. 30, 2020 at Riverbend Park in Smithville, Texas, the first District Title for Cedar Creek Cross Country in the school's history.

Cedar Creek Varsity girls XC, District 18-5A Champions

Cedar Creek girls finished in first place with a total of 38 points, while Bastrop came in second with 48 points, followed by Hendrickson in third with 66 points and Weiss in fourth with 67 points. The top two teams, Cedar Creek and Bastrop, qualified to advance to Regionals on Nov. 9, 2020.

Cedar Creek Varsity girls XC, District 18-5A Champions

The Lady Eagles, however, entered too many runners in the race and were disqualified, giving the top two team spots to Bastrop and Hendrickson. Each team was allowed to enter seven runners, and Cedar Creek entered nine—seven runners and two alternates. There was confusion around whether or not alternates could compete in the race, which ended up costing Cedar Creek the title.

Individually, senior Brenda Campuzano, who finished 5th overall with a time of 21:28.30 on the 5K course, and freshman Paisley Smith, who finished 7th overall with a time of 21:44.20, finished in the top ten and qualified to advance to Regionals.

Brenda Campuzano, 5th place District 18-5A, Cedar Creek XC

Paisley Smith, 7th place District 18-5A, Cedar Creek XC

Also counting in the team scoring for Cedar Creek were seniors Belkin Vega Molina, who finished 11th with a time of 22:14.40, Arieana Gracia, who finished 12th with a time of 22:15.10, and Matiana Cancino, who finished 13th with a time of 22:16.40.

Completing the Cedar Creek team were junior Daniela Mora, who finished 20th with a time of 22:51.40, freshman Madison Spiro, who finished 25th with a time of 23:10.70, freshman Maelynn Bailey, who finished 32nd with a time of 27:01.70, and senior Karina Schumacher, who finished 34th with a time of 27:29.80. Jitzell Mora, of Pflugerville, won the girls individual title with a time of 20:34.70.

“I am proud of my girls team and their efforts and the way they ran...,” Cedar Creek coach Naomi Kramer said in an email. “They have worked hard and earned the title.”

Cedar Creek High School Varsity XC

On the boys side, Cedar Creek Varsity boys finished in fourth place with 67 points. Hendrickson and Weiss tied for first with 56 points and Bastrop finished in third with 58 points.

Emmanuel Gonzalez Yanez led Cedar Creek, finishing in 7th place with a time of 17:34.60, which qualified him to advance to Regionals as an individual runner.

Emmanuel Gonzalez Yanez, 7th place District 18-5A, Cedar Creek XC

Also counting in the team scoring for Cedar Creek were freshman Matthew Sobeck, who finished 16th with a time of 18:35.20, sophomore Jacob Loudenslager, who finished 21st with a time of 18:51.00, senior George Benitez, who finished 24th with a time of 19:07.60, and sophomore Elijah Mojica, who finished 25th with a time of 19:09.60.

Completing the team were Eduardo Marquez, who finished 29th with a time of 19:37.80, Alejandro Ruiz, who finished 30th with a time of 19:58.60, Noe Flores, who finished 37th with a time of 21:35.80, and Noe Espinosa Parra, who finished 39th with a time of 22:24.40. Mario Ruiz, of Elgin, won the boys race with a time of 16:04.70.

Congratulations to the Cedar Creek girls for their accomplishment! We are also very proud of individual runners Brenda, Paisley, and Emmanuel for finishing in the top ten in District and advancing to Regionals!

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page